Courage

It has been awhile since posting last … I have been consumed with full-time teaching in Grade One. I LOVE it but boy is it exhausting!! Working full-time and parenting is no easy feat. I have discovered that it is a delicate balancing act and juggling of this kind is an art skill that I’m still trying to work out.

Of late I have been contemplating what courage looks like. Courage is needed in all facets of life and it is something that I have been teaching my darling daughter about – that courage is not always a roar but the tiny voice at the end of the day that says ‘try again … you really do have what it takes’. Parenting is a big journey and it really never seems to end …. because, just as you get your darlings over and through one hurdle the next one is looming larger than life. Teaching our children to navigate these hurdles well is imperative so we can give them the keys to unlock the doors of challenge, choice and change. One era is about to close as my girl completes her formal schooling years. I truly can’t believe I am at this point in my life or that she has grown up so fast. Time really does fly!! I am so proud of her and how she has triumphed some very big hurdles in her lifetime.

Teaching our children that courage is not always about embracing bravado or ‘faking it till you make it’ is vital, even necessary. Courage is about taking small positive steps towards change, it is all about  making better choices and overcoming the odds that are stacked in the way. Courage is doing what you think you can’t!!  Our kids need to know that they can do this and that we believe in them, totally and wholeheartedly. It is helping them to face those giant fears and showing them how to take them out, one step at a time. This kind of courage builds a belief deep within a child that they truly can face whatever comes their way. When we believe in our children and let them know they will never stand alone, no matter how old they get! … they truly can conquer the world!!

So take courage my friends and face this new day!

Image Source

One thought on “Courage

Leave a Reply

