Life is …

Funny how life has a way of creeping up on you or changing before your eyes. You can be so busy in the moment that you forget to see the metamorphosis occurring before your eyes. Like this evening when my twelve year old son was lounging on the couch, I suddenly noticed the fine whisper of hair sprouting along his top lip …. WHAT!!! … when did that happen?

Life is what happens to you when your busy making other plans ~ John Lennon. 

Life can occasionally upend our nicely laid out plans. Yep, I had good intentions of a little family adventure. Regularly bike riding with the kids sounded like a plan but when we bought new bikes some time back I didn’t account for my frantic beating heart as my super excited kids lost pedal control careening down the road or were narrowly missed by the passing traffic whizzing by. Sticking to the path became essential as I supervised the safety of my children’s bike riding adventures with my heart in my mouth. Not really the fun I was hoping for. This fun family outing posed more risk than I originally anticipated. To do or not to do …. that was the question!

Things just don’t always go as planned or how we might imagine and I wonder how often we miss the silver lining when disappointment creeps in?  For instance when I first moved into my place on the cul-de-sac I admired the bush surroundings. For a little townhouse in suburbia I was very content. I admired the tall gum trees and the beautiful native flora and fauna in the backyard. I just never anticipated the prolific variety of bird life and how disturbing their wake up calls would be!!! Screeching galahs, squaking crows and window tapping magpies can be seriously annoying at 4:30a.m in the morning (Somewhat frustrated and a little disappointed). The upside is I don’t really need an alarm as we head towards summer and a cup of tea out with the birds is not a bad way to start the day. (The silver lining isn’t always easy to find but it is there if we look for it.)

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years ~ Abraham Lincoln.

So despite the ups and downs of life I would rather this grand and delightful adventure than experiencing none of its turns at all. Yes, at times my head is spinning and everything seems to spiral out of control but as long as life continues to widen and expand before me …. then hey, I’m okay with that. 

capture, celebrate, cherish

Linking this post up with

‘October followers fest’ …

a blog par-tay.

Come and join in the fun.
Photobucket

4 thoughts on “Life is …

  1. Very well written and presented. It’s the ups and downs, the things that happen on the road and that we didn’t expect to show up, the choices we are making a bit adventurous sometimes, the tears and laughs that make this journey a great one. We sometime wish for a different set up but would it be so fascinating and beautiful? I am not sure.

    stay well.

  2. WOW. great post. I love how you write. From the heart. WHy and how is time going so fast? It never went this fast before kids… (well for me anyway) It’s so bittersweet to watch them change and grow… Glad to have found you on the blog hop follwer fest thingy… I am a new follower for you.

Leave a Reply

