Welcome home

It’s that time of the week to write for five minutes straight from the heart … I am linking up with the Gypsy Mama and her prompt this week is … WELCOME.

 Here’s how we do it:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

2. Link back to the Gypsy Mama and invite others to join in.

3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

It’s a great way to exhale at the end of a beautiful week.

So here I go…..

A few months back I came home from a missions trip to Uganda to the welcome embrace of my beautiful children. I had missed them terribly and as the weeks went by I found it harder to stuff the feelings down. They just kept bubbling up…threatening to spill over…I thought I would bust from the lostness inside…that deep penetrating, lonely quietness!! ….even though I felt purposeful about what I was doing and was achieving a long-held dream, loving on those beautiful orphans without a Mother, a home or someone to love them.  So many tumultuous emotions – so many highs and lows. I missed the cheeky grins, loud singing, never-ending chatter, piles of laundry, smelly socks!!…What!!!… how could this be!!!. “Welcome home” they cried as they scrambled to hug me, fighting for pole position – a group hug – Lovely. We held on tight not wanting to let go. Three weeks had been a long time. I had missed them so much, even their annoying ways had some how become endearing…funny how time can change the way you feel about things. Saying goodbye is never easy, letting go always hard but coming home and falling into the arms of loved ones is oh so wonderful and well…. welcome anytime.

5 thoughts on “Welcome home

  1. I know what you mean…my boys can make me lose my everlovin’ mind, but I don’t like to be away from them long. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Oh, I know this feeling! When we returned from Ethiopia, my four kids jockeyed for position and all talked at once! Isn’t it weird to walk around with your heart in two places? Thank you for your post and reminding my of my welcome home, too! I linked up with the Five Minute Friday, too, and wrote about being welcomed in Ethiopia!

  3. I love your enthusiam- it is contagious….I feel your sparks of passion and they ignite my burning- do you have more information about the missions trip you took? visiting from GM.

  4. Oh love it! I love just getting home from work and the excitement on my daughters face to see me. It’s somehow so valuing to be welcomed!

Leave a Reply

