Acholi mother and baby

Acholi baby

Acholi Mother and baby

One of the images I most loved snapping while in Africa was a baby snuggled tightly on its mothers back. Babies are traditionally carried this way and you rarely see a fussy baby. So very cute and adorable so I just had to sketch this today. I took these photos on our visit to Gulu and was just mesmerised by this beautiful African woman shielding herself and her baby from the heat of the African sun. She politely stopped and smiled for me as I inquired about taking her photo – A woman of dignity and grace.

African Proverb – ‘Tomorrow is pregnant and no-one knows what she will give birth to.’ – Andrew Uwaoma

Gulu baby

The Acholi people from Northern Uganda (Gulu) are known to the outside world mainly due to the insurgency of the Lord’s Resistance Army’ led by Joseph Kony. The activities of the LRA have been devastating within Acholiland. The government of Uganda put in place a policy of forced displacement of the Acholi in the Gulu district into displacement camps. (wikipedia)


project-gulu

Gulu Mum and bub

StudioJRU

Linking up with sugarbee and studiojru

9 thoughts on “Acholi mother and baby

  1. I do like the description: a woman of dignity and grace…and you really captured that in the sketch!

    I really love reading here on Fridays…a feast for my eyes and an education for my mind…

    Blessings…

  2. African Proverb – ‘Tomorrow is pregnant and no-one knows what she will give birth to.’ – Andrew Uwaoma … A new AP for me and I love it your artwork sings a song of peace … Thanks

  3. Very impressive artwork,i could not navigate away without a comment.thats how much i was touched .thank you very much.beatiful

Leave a Reply

