Open my eyes

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord ... I want to see you.

baby alexs story

There’s a saying that our  eyes  are the window to our  soul ... that if we look deep enough we will see more than words could ever say. When I looked into the eyes of many of the children from Watoto I saw  smiles  and  laughter  because of the hope that is provided for their future. It is bright and full of  promise.

When I visited the babies home I was met by curious, mishevious and very alert eyes intently enaging us in the hopes of a little attention. I was particularly drawn to babies with the solemn and probing eyes … those beautiful brown eyes that watched me silently from a distance. It was these eyes that spoke to me when words could not.

There is a song that says, ‘Open the eyes of my heart Lord, open the eyes of my heart, I want to see you.’ My prayer is that the eyes of my heart be opened so that I really truly see, that I see more than just flesh and blood but that I also see hope, purpose, destiny and the light of eternity.

© Copyright – Kay @ Soul Soiree

3 thoughts on “Open my eyes

Leave a Reply

